The Henry Krumb School of Mines (HKSM) is an institute of the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS) and consists of three units:

  1. The Department of Earth and Environmental Engineering (DEEE):
    In the framework of the creation of the Earth Institute at Columbia University, a major initiative in the study of Earth, its environment and society, the traditional programs of HKSM in mining, mineral processing, and extractive metallurgy were expanded in the late nineties to encompass environmental concerns related to the use of materials, energy and water resources. DEEE is one of nine departments of the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS)

  2. The interdepartmental program in Materials Science and Engineering is the successor of the HKSM traditional physical metallurgy program and focuses on the design of advanced materials and the effects of composition and processing on material properties.

  3. The Earth Engineering Center is the engineering unit of the Earth Institute and is dedicated to directing engineering research towards the reconfiguring of industrial activities with full understanding of their environmental impacts. Several faculty of the Henry Krumb School of Mines are associated with the Earth Engineering Center.

The executive committee of HKSM consists of the Dean of SEAS (Chair) and the heads of the three HKSM components.