The Pupin Medal was created by the Columbia Engineering School Alumni Association in 1958, the centennial year of the birth of Michael I. Pupin (1858-1935), American physicist and inventor who was professor of electro-mechanics at the Columbia Engineering School from 1901 to 1931.

Dr. Pupin, who was born in the former Yugoslavia, is remembered for his pioneering inventions in communications and for his research on X-rays. The Pupin Physics Laboratories building at Columbia is named for him. Among his many epochal inventions is the celebrated "Pupin coil" which greatly lengthened the range of the long distance telephone.

The Pupin Medal is presented in recognition of "Distinguished Service to the Nation in Engineering, Science or Technology."

Past Pupin Medalists

1958 - MEDARIS, Major General John B.
Commanding General of U.S. Army Ordinance Missile Command and earlier Commander of the Army Ballistic Missile Agency. He planned and executed the Ordinance phase of the Invasion of Normandy
1959 - BIRD, Brig. General Harrison K.
For his endeavors in the field of science with Dr. Pupin in the development of inventions for the benefit of mankind.
1959 - DUNNING, Dean John R.
For his key role in the development of the U.S. atomic energy program. He pioneered some of the first neutron experiments in the country in 1932 and was director of the development of the first Columbia University Cyclotron in 1936.
1959 - GIBBS, William Francis.
(Naval architect and marine engineer) As the country's foremost designer of large ships he designed both the United States and the America for U.S. Lines. His Liberty ship allowed for mass production of freighters during World War II.
1959 - O'CONNELL, Honorable James T.
For service to the nation in the fields of engineering and Federal construction; manpower and industrial relations; personnel management and arbitration; and for his distinguished record of achievement as Under Secretary of Labor during the Eisenhower administration.
1959 - RICKOVER, Rear Admiral Hyman G.
Father of the Atomic Submarine.
1961 - HOOVER, John Edgar.
(Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation) For devotion and loyalty to the cause of public safety and the example that he set for the youth of the nation.
1966 - KAPPEL, Frederick R.
(President, and then Chairman of the Board of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, and Life Trustee of Columbia University) For his outspoken championship of free enterprise through strong personal example and wise counsel.
1967 - GLENN, Colonel John H.
The first American astronaut to orbit the earth.
1979 - McGILL, William James.
(President of Columbia University 1970-1980, and specialist in psychophysics) For outstanding contributions in information processing and mathematic psychology, commitment to freedom of inquiry and expression, and the advancement of higher education.
1980 - RABI, Isidor Isaac.
(The outstanding American scientist of the century) For his groundbreaking work in atomic physics, his establishment of a major scientific center in America, his years of peace-promoting service to his country and to the world, and his extraordinary dedication to teaching.
1983 - ROE, Kenneth A.
For pioneering work in petroleum, electrical and nuclear energy construction, timeless service to Engineering Societies, and devotion to his government in advisory and active capacities.
1991 - SALVADORI, Mario.
For his wide-ranging work in civil engineering, applied mathematics, architecture, and education.
1991 - WU, Chien-Shiung.
For outstanding work in physics. Her 1954 experiments single-handedly disproved the widely accepted principle of "conservation of parity"; her 1963 experiments confirmed the existence of weak magnetism in beta decay.
1992 - RAMSEY, Norman F., Jr.
For discovery of the deuteron electric quadrupole moment, invention of high-precision methods of molecular beam spectroscopy, and observations of parity violating spin rotations of neutrons; and for educational leadership.
1993 - PRESS, Frank.
For his extensive work in seismic activity and wave theory; for organizing the first International Geophysical Year; and for his wise counsel to four Presidents of the United States.
1995 - VAGELOS, P. Roy
For his leadership in the pharmaceutical industry; for his many contributions to biological science and pharmaceutical research; for his role in helping to discover and produce medicines that extend and enhance life; for his tireless efforts to promote global health as a public service; and for his outstanding work as a teacher.
Return to Distinguished Medals and Awards

Click on the hammers to return to the SEAS Alumni Home Page